Skip navigation

Good (cough) afternoon from Paris after another night of jet lag.

Today’s plan: laundry, see the swans, and hopefully a meal in between that isn’t from the Monoprix. (But how very grateful I am for the Monoprix. Last night’s chick pea tagine in shelf-stable packaging and microwaved frozen peas saved me from having to fend off hunger in some late night bar that serves nothing veggie or pescetarian. People come to France to eat but I find this the biggest challenge, between the language barrier, the dizzying array of choices, the meat-heavy cuisine, the need for advance reservations for anywhere particularly good, and yes, the cost. At the Monoprix I can study the ingredients at leisure and pay with a credit card with the most basic communication exchange.

So far I have managed exactly one non-Monoprix meal, at 2 pm yesterday at a friendly and fresh sandwich shop on Blvd Montparnasse, a tuna salad bagette and a cup of pumpkin soup which I’m pretty sure contained chicken bouillion but I was so hungry and grateful for the friendly service that I didn’t care.

Today I was hoping to get to a nearby bistro (?) known for awesome cheese soufflees but was awake until nearly 5 (?) am and then slept much too late. Monoprix yogurt and stale baguette and nespresso and bottled juice of pamplemousse to the rescue!

But what joy: tonight is my first Swan Lake!

Sent via carrier pigeon

10 Comments

  1. Eating is the most difficult part of foreign travel esp when you have a special diet. I feel you! I hope you can find something today! Enjoy the swans!

    • Thanks Cranky! Man, I am wondering how anyone could eat gluten free here (though there are some items marked as such au Monoprix – but restaurant wise?).

      • Well, the flour is different over there than here, and they don’t allow GMOs so I relax my ways–when I was on minimal meds back in 2013 and was in Italy, Austria/Slovenia (not veggiecentirc countries) I just had to eat what they had (esp at the retreat) and when I came home I thought I’d have to increase my meds for a while but I stopped them completely so I indulged in croissants etc when I went to Nice last time but yeah like what a waste if you go to France and can’t gorge on pastries for a week! haha.

  2. Voyage a la supermarchay. Do do do-da-da!

  3. Do you have a fridge where you’re staying? My sister and I bought bread and lovely cheese (two things that are always awesome in France) to keep on hand in our accommodation for off-the-cuff meals.

    • I do … but I still need to overcome my fear of interacting with the folks at the boulangeries and the fromageries. :{ Fortunately the Monoprix carries bread and cheese so I’ve been able to do a bit of that. Thanks for the excellent suggestion!

  4. Not sure where you are, but around the Rue Faubourg St Dennis there are Indian and halal restaurants that serve vegetarian dishes. French Millennials are into vegan-vegetarian diets as well, so it’s good to look for where college students and hipsters hang out. :)

    • Great suggestions, thanks! I may head up there tomorrow if I can get up early enough for lunch.


Leave a Reply

