Skip navigation

Today I got a bee in my bonnet to go over to the little antique mall near my office and buy a vintage Paris souvenir. Like a little porcelein Eiffel Tower or something. Or even a vintage postcard.

I found nothing like that, but did find this fantastic thing.

After asking myself “Does this spark joy?”* (heck yeah!), I bought it and can’t wait to put it to use for its intended purpose (after a bath and getting a certain box out of storage).

*with thanks to Marie Kondo.

Sent via carrier pigeon

11 Comments

  1. What is it?

  2. I have one just like it. Keep my undies in there.

  3. Is it some kind of sewing or knitting caddy? I see the pincushion on top. Wondering if those holes in the bottom tier are to feed yarn through.

    • Bingo! Sewing caddy …. the lower tier has spindles for thread around the periphery.

  4. Kondo was my mother’s maiden name. I wonder…. Is Marie Kondo an author?

    • Yes, and the book is, and the book is The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing. A relation,perhaps?

      • Kondo is the name of a samurai family in the Tokyo region, though Mom’s branch was regarded as “shabby genteel.” They had money and land but no title or position in government like the Baron Kondo in The Meiji Era. Mom was always proud of the name, though.

        I’ll have to check out the book!

        • Wow – neat that you have those roots. The book makes a lot of sense to me, and I am excited about putting some of the ideas – the main idea – into practice when I finally am able to move out of storage and unpack.


Leave a Reply

