Skip navigation

Have I mentioned yet that I am finally getting ready to move? No? Well, I am, and Lucy is helping. (Ella, too.)
To a little town on the Olympic Peninsula.
Over the course of January.
Into the magic cottage (see Nov 2013, on my flickr page if not here). And a storage unit.
At least until I sell my condo.
And then we shall see where I settle. If I love living in Port Townsend, it could be there. Or I might come fleeing back into Seattle.
Or head south (to Portland, maybe).
Or back east somewhere.
To be determined at a later date.

Sent via carrier pigeon

11 Comments

  1. Good luck! Port Townsend is a lovely place. Are you planning to commute from there to Seattle, or did you get another job?

    I’d think you’d miss living in a larger city, but maybe you’re feeling that you’d rather have a home that’s more secluded and quiet. As I get older, I feel torn between living in an area where I have all the amenities and don’t need to drive, vs. living in a place that’s peaceful and allows me to listen to birds during the day and watch stars by night. Where I’m living now is centrally located and close to the hipster neighborhood and a lot of services, but I have yet to see a hummingbird or even the Big Dipper. Too much light, too much noise.

    • Thank you, HG! I probably will miss Seattle, but bingo on craving quiet, and also more space, both between my nearest neighbor and inside. But there is a lot to be said for not needing to drive. Luckily I still have my job and I’m essentially a telecommuter, so that should work out okay in Port Townsend. And if I get laid off I won’t be trapped in a mortgage (at least until I’ve really decided to settle) with a hefty HOA monthly payment on top. But to be honest I’m kinda nervous about having only one door between me/cats and the dark outdoors (and raccoons, burglar-types, etc.).

      Hey, I finally got Maigret from the library, and am starting to watch it tonight while I pack. Were you watching the Michael Gambon version?

      • Yes! Michael Gambon is a marvelous Maigret, gruff, insightful and refined at the same time. The portrayal of postwar Paris is nicely done too. I find myself regretting the meals I normally eat when I watch the characters dine at cafes and bistros. With wine at every meal!

        I’ll bet you won’t be bothered at all in your cottage. No, you won’t have a security entrance or a super to shoo away the critters, but you will sigh with relief when you come home to your own stoop, your own space with no neighbors on the other side of the wall. :)

        • I’m really enjoying it so far! and oh yes the dining scenes … ah, Paris… sigh…
          Yeah, the quietude will be lovely I think. It’s going to be a learning experience… I haven’t lived outside of an urbanized area since I was a kid. A week and a half ago I made a day trip out there with my bro and sis-in-law (to see the Bolshoi Ballet! screened at the wonderful Rose Theatre, one of PT’s crowning assets in my book) and dropped some cat supplies off at the cottage and got to see a pair of deer nonchalantly hanging out in the yard. And the idea of birds and stars is dreamy.

  2. Oh wow! Congratulations and good luck with the move!

  3. ゆきちゃん!

  4. Hope the move goes smoothly! I’ve never been to Port Townsend but I don’t think there are any unlikable towns in the PNW. :)

    • Thank you, Steph! Port Townsend is very likeable but very small – pop. 9,100! So it might feel too small. But I’m gonna give it a go.


Leave a Reply

