Skip navigation

After a tiny, tiny bit of sleep, it was thrilling to wake up in Paris to beautiful morning light over the rooftops.

dawn over le Marais

I was smitten with the terra cotta chimney pots, and the light.

dawn over le Marais

We enjoyed breakfast, including scrumptious Twinkie-esque madeleines and delicious from-a-pod espresso that were stocked in the kitchenette, with other things we had picked up from a nearby grocery the previous evening.

cafe au lait

And then lunch from Mi-Va-Mi:

le dejeuner

And then we ventured out, walking to the Palais Garnier, because I would be seeing the ballet there that night and wanted to know how long it would take to walk there.

Place Diaghilev

So we walked there twice that day (and walked back the first time, Metroed back the second), with a visit to the gift shop the first time, and picking up some more comestibles on the walk back.  Dinner was baguette and the stinkiest of camembert wolfed down in the apartment.

The only photos I took that evening were of the interior of the magnificent Garnier.  I had a side seat in the third level of loges.

from the 3eme loges, box 18

Marc Chagall ceiling

The program included Harald Lander’s Etudes (which is a delightful display of the amazing classical technical proficiency of the Paris Opera Ballet dancers) and two works by William Forsythe, whose choreography is very interesting, but whose choices of music don’t appeal to me, so I didn’t enjoy those as much as Etudes.  Of course no photography was permitted during the performance, but I did manage to get a screen capture from Etudes from a web broadcast of the same program the very next night:

Etudes

Alas there wasn’t time to linger and draw the theater that evening.  (Too bad I felt it necessary to make that walk twice.)  Next trip.

the descent

Good night, moon.  Good night Eiffel Tower way off in the distance. Good night, Paris.

moon, tour Eiffel

14 Comments

  1. I didn’t believe you at first that we ate nothing but baguette and stinky cheese for dinner that night, but I checked in my journal and you’re right. That seems very unlike us not to have a proper dinner. We must’ve been more rushed than I realized.

    • Even rushed, I’m pretty sure that dinner included wine.

  2. What is that item from Mi-Va-mi? I saw it on your flickr feed and thought it might be a falafel and pita sandwich, but the pink crustacean leg-thingy gave me pause.

    I was watching the old Mystery! series Maigret, and thought about you in Paris. I think I’d have a hard time not drinking wine with every meal if I lived there. :)

    • It is indeed falafel! I believe the crustacean leg-thing was was cabbage. And yes, wine accompanied all of my meals except breakfast, and lunch on the last full day. I’ve never seen Maigret … need to do that.

  3. Day 3, please!

  4. You could have worse dinners than baguette and camembert! Did you guys sing Foux de fa-fa the whole week? :P
    Your pictures are really lovely. *sigh* I love that Marc Chagall ceiling.

    • Agreed! The camembert became a staple of every evening until it was gone, and its odor a standing joke every time someone opened the fridge. It necessitated the ritual of buying a daily baguette and yes! the French spirit of Bret and Jemaine was with us daily.

      Thank you. That ceiling was amazing. I was happy to be seated so high up so as to be closer to it (although it was kinda scary looking down and there wasn’t much of barrier between my seat and plummeting to my death).

      • Ha, we stayed in a hostel in Paris in 1995 (The 3 Ducks) and passed a stinky cheese and wine shop every day to and from the Metro. at least we knew we were going the right way.

        • I brought that first FotC record on my iPad and we did, in fact, listen to “Foux du fafa”.

          The strange thing about camembert is that it made the fridge stink, but it didn’t seem to negatively effect our breath.

  5. haha you probably cancelled each other out.

    OH! Homey, here I have been commenting and I completely forgot to tell you I got the postcard! Thanks! What a nice surprise.

    • Me too! Thank you for the postcard! My favorite spot in Paris was Shakespeare & Co.

      • You’re welcome! Oh my gosh, that place is wonderful, especially on the second level. Sigh…

    • Yer welcome!


Leave a Reply

