Skip navigation

I bought a car.  Or rather I will be buying this car every month for the next six years.

Sailor Babo digs the color scheme.

What is pale grey-blue, sports a white hat, has big wide eyes, and makes me squee inside every time I see it?

What is pale grey-blue, sports a white hat, has big wide eyes, and makes me squee inside every time I see it?

Of course she needs a name. Contenders so far: Momo, Audrey, Kate, Iris, Babette, Brenda, Wanda, Bridget, Sabrina, the Blue Manatee, and my officemate suggested Minette, but that has some slang connotations I’d rather avoid.

I’ve wanted one of these things for 10 years.  I haven’t owned a car in 7 years.  I seem to be making a trip to the vet every week now, and I really want to get out of the city more.  I could get cancer next year and I don’t want to go to my grave wishing I had enjoyed driving one of these (other than as a Zipcar which seems to be phasing them out of their fleet, at least in Seattle).  Even if I will only drive it, like, 5,000 miles a year.  (It will last longer that way, anyway.)

14 Comments

  1. Wow! How cool for you! I vote for Momo. It kind of goes with Babo.

    • I’ve been wanted to name something Momo for several years. L love the named but am not sure if fits this car… haven’t decided yet, though.

  2. Very cool – your name list needs some culling, too many to pick from. I usually make up the name from the number plate letters.

    • Good idea – I may wait until the permanent plates comes in and see what the numbers suggest.

  3. Momo is a good name. Or Babette.

    Buying a car isn’t midlife, it’s grown-up, realizing you have places to go and things to do in a timely fashion on your own schedule.

    Buying a red convertible to chase younger people is a midlife crisis.

    Sailor Babo’s pretty sure you bought that for him, right?

    • Thanks for that. Today I enjoyed running errands with it. Sailor Babo came along.

  4. also, you may need to add a pink flag!

  5. Ohhhhh I’ve wanted a Mini Cooper for almost as long as you, but, I already had my Hyundai small SUV and never particularly wanted to downsize, or upsize my payments either. CONGRATS! *tinyjealous*
    It’s so you! and Babo, of course. I say, Babette, though I have never named any of my cars. Enjoy it!

  6. I made Mr. LT look at the picture and he said “Babo is posing with a Mini Cooper” and then I made him read the caption and he actually LOL.

    Babo and Babette sounds like a singing group. Or an old French movie. I like it.

    • Wow, I feel honored! A few more potential names have thrown their hats into the ring, including Rose Melberg and Emma.

  7. I missed this somehow! I’m happy you’re getting your much-wished-for wheels. My son would probably holler, “Get a bike!” but honestly, I don’t know how he bikes to work in the rain, let alone hauls groceries and moves furniture. (He says he’s done it, but I don’t think I want to know how.) Hope you enjoy driving around again!

    • Thanks, HG! It certainly makes running errands and hauling kitties to the vet more fun.

      Good for Chris! As I recall there is an episode of Portlandia with bicycle movers going back and forth and back and forth. Alas, cycling is no longer a viable option for me. I had a bike but gave it away when my second elbow/ forearm started having problems. Even before then, discomfort and fear of riding in traffic were deterrents to riding much. So walking and taking the bus are my best alternatives to driving or riding in someone else’s car. These work fine except for major grocery hauls, longer trips, and the near-weekly vet visits in some months.


Leave a Reply

